Telluride Association sponsors a variety of awards for students at many stages of their academic careers.

Without the Mike Yarrow Award my project in Honduras would have been difficult if not impossible.” 
~Theron Tingstad

Awards Offerings

Mansfield-Wefald Senior Thesis Prize

The 1994 Telluride Association Convention established the Mansfield-Wefald Prize to honor the memory of Mary Mansfield and Eric Wefald, two Association members who died tragically in 1989. The prize of $1,000 will be awarded by a committee of Association members for the best scholarly thesis written by a Telluride associate who will have completed their final year of undergraduate education in the 2017-18 academic year. The 2017 winner of the prize was University of Michigan graduate Helena Ratté, MB13, for her thesis entitled “Multiple Displacements: Bosnian Refugee Journeys to Germany and Back, 1992-2016.”

Previous winners of the Mansfield-Wefald Prize.

Award recipient will be announced by the Awards Committee in June.  The M-W-2018-Application-Form is due May 1, with some flexibility for those with later deadlines. Please let us know your intentions to apply.



The Mike Yarrow Adventurous Education Award

Clarence “Mike” Yarrow (DS’25 CB’28 TA’28) led the establishment and operation of the Pasadena Branch of Telluride Association, which operated from 1947 to 1952. In addition to his Telluride activities, Mike was a committed Quaker who worked for world peace in many capacities, at home and abroad. A number of Pasadena Branch alumni and friends have worked to establish the Mike Yarrow Adventurous Education Award in his memory to enable Telluride branchmembers to pursue summer educational projects that reflect his spirit.

The award, of up to $3,000, is designed to allow the recipient to undertake a non-paying, public service activity during the summer that is outside of an academic institution and clearly reflects Mike Yarrow’s interests in peace and service to humanity. The award recipient may be any Telluride Association affiliate who is enrolled in formal education at some point during the 2017 calendar year and over the age of 18 by the time of travel. They must have a demonstrated commitment to Telluride Association and a clear need for summer earnings. Within one month of their return, the successful applicant must summarize their summer activities in a report, which will stand as a record of the summer’s accomplishments, and will also be distributed to the Yarrow Award sponsoring group.

In 2017, the Yarrow Award for Adventurous Education supported the work of Helena Ratté MB13 to conduct program evaluation research for the humanitarian organization AMICA e.V. in Freiburg, Germany and Bosnia and Herzegovina. AMICA e.V  works throughout Europe, the Caucasus, and the Middle East and North Africa region to support women and girls in post-conflict countries and crisis areas.  See Past Yarrow Award Recipients below for more information.

Past Yarrow Award Recipients

The deadline for the application for the 2018 Yarrow Award is March 23, 2018. The award recipient is usually announced by the Awards Committee in late March, in time for students to make their summer plans.



E.M. Johnson Essay Contest

At its 2015 Convention, Telluride Association announced a one-time essay contest in honor of former Telluride Association Chancellor E. M. Johnson on the theme of “The Purpose, Promise, and Practices of Telluride Association, ” open to all Association alumni not currently members of Telluride Association. Entrants submitted essays of one thousand words by January 6, 2015, which were judged by the Awards Committee based on their depth of analysis and grace in verbal expression. Entrants were divided into two divisions: Division I applicants had not yet earned their bachelor’s degree at the time of submission; Division II applicants had already earned their bachelor’s degree at the time of submission. The first prize essay in each division received $1000; the second prize essay received $750; and the third prize essay received $500. The names winners in each division and their essays are posted below:

Division I Winners:

Division II Winners: